DUI The Strength & Experience You Need

Washington State DUI

Driving under the influence of alcohol and / or drugs is charged as a gross misdemeanor in Washington State. When charged with this offense, you will be subject to both a criminal proceeding and an administrative action from the Department of Licensing. Your license will be automatically suspended for a minimum of 90 days unless you request a hearing within 7 days to challenge that action. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeded .15 percent, you will face an automatic suspension of up to one year unless you prevail at the administrative hearing. To reinstate your license, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at your own expense. You will also face increased insurance premiums and be required to file proof of financial responsibility, known as SR-22. This certificate of insurance as part of your policy is generally required for a 3-year period from the date of your reinstatement.

Blood Alcohol Concentration in DUI

In Washington, a BAC of .08 percent measured on a breath test provides evidence of drunk driving for adults. For minors, the legal BAC limit is .02 percent and for those holding a commercial driver's license, the legal limit is .04 percent. The penalties you face will depend on the facts and circumstances surrounding your case. Because every case is different, you should consult with a qualified attorney about the particulars of your situation. At the Matto Law Firm, PLLC, you can get experienced legal advice and guidance from a Seattle DUI attorney who has focused on this area of law for close to a decade and who knows all of the laws, science, procedures, and defenses possible.

DUI Penalties

Penalties for a first-time DUI will result in mandatory jail time of one day, not to exceed one year. If your BAC exceeded .15 percent, your mandatory jail time is two days. Electronic home monitoring for 15 to 30 days in lieu of incarceration may also be ordered, depending on your BAC. You may also be subject to a mandatory alcohol or drug abuse treatment program. Fines of up to $5,000 are also assessed which do not include court costs or license reinstatement fees.

Impaired Driving

You may also be charged with a DUI if you exhibit impaired driving as witnessed by law enforcement, regardless of the BAC measured on a breath test. Driving under the influence of drugs includes illegal street drugs, prescription medicines, and even over-the-counter drugs which can cause drowsiness, slow reaction time, and loss of judgment.

Client Reviews

    "He saved my life and I would recommend him without hesitation!"

    I called the The Matto Law Firm when I was charged with a DUI. I was 19 years old and drove on the wrong direction on highway ...

    - S. L., Spanaway
    "He immediately put me at ease and explained all my options. I was very pleased with the outcome."

    I was charged with my third DUI in seven years and facing one hundred and twenty days in jail, one hundred and fifty days ...

    - L. M., Shoreline
    "I will always recommend Mr. Matto's Firm to anyone looking for an aggressive criminal defense attorney."

    I was charged with my second DUI within seven years and was facing a minimum of forty-five days in jail, ninety days of home ...

    - J. N., Lynnwood

We're Here to Help

  • Charged With A DUI?

    Let me use my knowledge and years of experience to fight for you.

  • Educate Yourself Now!
    Get instructions on how, when and why to save your license.
  • Facing Criminal Charges?
    You need experienced, dedicated & focused representation.

Free Consultation

We'll Protect Your Freedom

A member of our team will be in touch shortly to confirm your contact details or address questions you may have.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy

Awards & Recognition